anoukopdenbrouw.reismee.nl

My second week

Good afternoon everyone,

My second week in England has already come to an end. Time is flying by.

Last week we had the sample sale at the company, this week there was a fashion show planned on Thursday. This meant, a lot needed to be done. First of all, on Monday and Tuesday we started with thing up everything from the sample sale. We had to put all the clothes in boxes and make sure everything looked nice again. When this had been done, the chairs had to be arranged. The arrival of all the chairs was planned on Thursday morning.

On Wednesday everything was tided up and the other Dutch intern and I started with the orders. Because of Black Friday, there were a lot of orders which needed to be shipped. The order process within the company looks like this:

We make use of an Admin program where we receive all the orders. We have to find the items which have to collected for the order and when this has been done, we need to make a label and print the invoice. We need to make the package and ship it. This is all I've done on Wednesday.

On Thursday I could start at 12 because the fashion show would end at 9pm. First I had to ship orders and at around 4 we started with the preparations for the show. This included unfolding the chairs, steaming all the clothes and make sure everything was ready for the show.

During the fashion, I had to make sure the clothes which the models had worn, would get on the right place again. The actual show took half an hour, afterwards the visitors got the change to buy the clothes which were shown during the show. I needed to collect the desired sizes. When all the visitors were gone, we had a drink with the other employees and afterwards we went home because the next morning we had to start at the normal time.

On Friday I helped with tiding everything up again and when this had been done I continued with the orders. When the other intern and I had finished the orders, we started with the merchandising of the website. This means we can decide which clothes to show on top of the page. With this used program, we get a view of the stock of all the items. The most popular items and items with the most stock items should be on top of the page because it can be annoying for the customers to have a lot of out of stock items on top of the page. This was actually really interesting to do.

My work week wasn't very interesting, but I did some nice things in my weekend. Last Sunday, I turned 18 and my host family decorated the house a bit with some balloons and they also got me a few presents. In the afternoon we went to the new Harry Potter movie, which was very nice.

This weekend I also did some nice things. My friend, who does her internship in Manchester, came to visit London for the weekend. So yesterday I went to central London to meet her. This was actually the first time I had to go with the underground and I was a bit nervous, but eventually everything went well. My friend and I did some shopping and went ice skating and it was very nice to see a familiar face again :)

It's only November, but London is already decorated with a lot of pretty Christmas lights, this was very nice to see. I am only 40 minutes away from Central London, so I am definitely planning on going there more often!


- Anouk


Reacties

Reacties

Han Oomen

Great talking to you today. I hope you will get things sorted at work and we’ll be in touch again soon. If you have some nice photos, do share them. Best

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!